Arkansas Extends Age Cap to 55 and Opens Revival Window for Child Sex Abuse Victims

Posted on: May 4, 2021 Sexual Abuse & Assault Lawsuits

Arkansas Opens Revival Window Child Sex AbuseOn April 30th, 2021, Arkansas legislators passed significant new law aimed at providing survivors of childhood sexual abuse a greater opportunity to hold their abusers, and those institutions responsible for allowing the abuse, accountable.

The new law, named the ‘Justice for Vulnerable Victims of Sexual Abuse Act’ accomplished two primary goals:

  1. It extended the age cap to which victims of sexual abuse could bring a claim from age 21 to age 55. Arkansas also has a 3-year discovery rule which went into effect in 1993 and remains in place. The discovery rule allows a sexual abuse victim to ‘start’ the running of the statute of limitations when he/she discovers the connection between the abuse and an injury/diagnosis.
  2. It will open a two-year revival window, beginning on November 1, 2021 and running through October 31, 2023. During this time period, survivors of childhood sexual abuse can file claims against their perpetrators, and the institutions responsible, like the Catholic Church, regardless of whether or not their statute of limitations has expired.

The passing of the Justice for Vulnerable Victims of Sexual Abuse Act makes Arkansas the 21st state in the country to pass some form of revival window. While many of those were limited in scope, and have already closed, currently there are revival windows open in the following states:

  • New York – Opened a 2-year revival window which is set to close on August 13, 2021.
  • New Jersey – Opened a 2-year revival window which is set to close on November 30, 2021.
  • North Carolina – Opened a 2-year revival window, with limitations, which is set to close on December 31, 2021.
  • California – Opened a 3-year window, up to age 40, which set to close on December 31, 2022.
  • Kentucky – Opened a window reviving SOL up to 5 years after the date the SOL previously expired.
  • Vermont – Opened a permanent window.

Other states including Rhode Island and Massachusetts have also passed revival windows, but currently only allow claims to be brought against the perpetrators themselves.

Details regarding the Justice for Vulnerable Victims of Sexual Abuse Act can be viewed here.

Arkansas Sexual Abuse Lawsuits

If you or a loved one were a victim of sexual abuse, contact our law firm today or learn more by visiting our Arkansas sexual abuse lawsuits page. Our firm reviews cases of sexual abuse and assault nationwide and can help you understand your legal options. Your time to file a sexual abuse and assault claim is limited. Call us today at 1-800-941-7209 for a FREE and PRIVATE consultation.

Tags

top