Oregon Sexual Abuse Lawsuits
Oregon is lagging behind most states with regards to statute of limitations reform by making few changes since 2010. Further, efforts to change legislation would help survivors of sexual abuse get justice against their abusers in the courts and allows for compensation. These laws enable lawyers handling sexual abuse claims in Oregon to file cases against sexual predators, including clergy members, and the Catholic church.
Below you will find information on Oregon’s statute of limitations laws. These laws are important because they dictate how long a lawyer handling Oregon sexual assault cases has to file a claim on behalf of a survivor. In addition, we’ve compiled a list of Oregon settlements received by sexual abuse and assault survivors.
Oregon Statute of Limitations for Sexual Abuse & Assault
Oregon has made little progress in the past decade towards helping survivors of sexual abuse get justice. The state hasn’t made any changes to its civil statute of limitations (SOL) laws for child sexual abuse since 2010 and has not improved its criminal SOL since 2015. While the changes the state has made are a step in the right direction, a greater effort needs to be made to get more of the existing SOLs eliminated as well as expanding the revival window for claims that are currently time-barred.
Criminal Statute of Limitations Laws for Oregon
Oregon eliminated the criminal SOL for first degree rape, sodomy, and unlawful penetration when DNA identification of a perpetrator has been made. However, for all other child sex abuse felonies the criminal SOL ends before the victim turns 30 years old. Child USA, who has evaluated every state based on their criminal statute of limitations laws, gave Oregon a Criminal SOL score of 1, on a 1-5 scale, where 5 is the highest. Oregon is one of only two states to receive this lowest possible rating. A score of 1 is defined as a criminal SOL that expires under age 40.
Civil Statute of Limitations Laws for Oregon
In Oregon, the civil SOL runs to age 40. In 2010, Oregon permanently revived its SOL up to age 40 against perpetrators and private organizations. Child USA, who has also evaluated every state based on their civil statute of limitation laws, gave Oregon a Civil SOL Age Cap score of 3, on a 1-5 scale, where 5 is the highest. A score of 3 is defined as a civil SOL age cap between 35 and 49 years old for survivors.
Additionally, Child USA gave Oregon a related SOL Revival Law score of 3 on the same 1-5 scale. A score of 3 is defined as a revival window or revival up to age 30-54, for claims against perpetrators and private organizations.
Go to our main sexual abuse page to learn more about the process of filing a clergy sexual abuse claim.
Oregon Sexual Abuse Settlements
August 2019 – The Archdiocese of Portland agreed to pay $4 million to settle claims by eight men who said Rev. Pius Brazauskas sexually abused them when they were boys in the 1970s and 80s. Most of the men had served as altar boys when they were abused. One of the victims was as young as five years old when Brazauskas abused him. Brazauskas, who died in 1990, was sometimes known to parish children as “Dr. Bubblegum” because he always had candy or gum to give to them.
The settlements listed above are offered for educational purposes only and do not guarantee any future outcome or settlement. Each legal situation is different, and past performance does not guarantee future results. We do not maintain that is a full list of all settlements in the state of Oregon but merely a grouping of those we choose to share on our website. Please contact us if you would like additional settlements included or if you notice any inaccuracies on our site. We strive to provide our viewers the most up to date and accurate information as possible.